dessert

Banana Nut Ice Cream

With my new school schedule, I’ve had to adjust my diet in a few key ways. Before school started, for breakfast I religiously made a green smoothie made with banana, blueberries, spinach topped with nuts and seeds. This would give me a bolt of energy that kept me going for about 2 hours, and then I’d rely on mid-morning snacks to make it until my 11:45am lunch. Sounds pathetic, but the blood sugar crash was real. While my smoothie bowl breakfast was packed with nutritious ingredients, the blood sugar spike from the fruit (especially banana) on an empty stomach resulted in a pretty quick crash. (Also, it’s not rocket science that green smoothies are not known for being a stick-to-your-ribs kind of meal).

Now that I have to be on my feet in a kitchen (where snacking is ironically not allowed) 10am until 1:30pm when we have lunch, I needed some serious fuel. My go-to breakfast nowadays is a poached eggs over a piece of seedy multigrain levain bread and half of an avocado with a drizzle of olive oil…and maybe a tablespoon of almond butter as I’m walking out the door. This change has turned me into the biggest believer in healthy fats for healthy weight. It’s the slowest macronutrient to digest, so I have sustained energy all morning and don’t feel anxious waiting for our late lunch to be served. *The complete protein of the egg paired with the fat is most effective for me. I’ve actually lost weight so far. So don’t be scared of the F word, fat is your friend.

IMG_0312

How this relates to banana nut ice cream is that I still love bananas, and wanted to find a place for them in my diet. Banana nut ice cream is Bruce and my new favorite dessert. Dairy and refined sugar free, it is literally 3 ingredients that can be done in a couple minutes without an ice cream maker. Bonus, bananas help promote sleep due to their magnesium and potassium which relax muscles.

IMG_0311

Banana Nut Ice Cream
Serves: 2   |    Prep time: 5 minutes   |    Total time: 2 hours

Ingredients:
2 very ripe bananas, peeled
1/4 cup organic coconut milk (Clear liquid part inside can of coconut milk. Reserve coconut fat for coconut whipped cream)
2 tbsp organic crunchy peanut butter
toasted coconut chips (optional)

Procedure:
In a blender, purée the banana and coconut water until smooth. Transfer mixture to a small bowl and stir in peanut butter, creating a ribbon through the banana liquid. Put bowl in freezer for at least 2 hours or longer, until frozen. When ready to serve, sprinkle toasted coconut chips, cocoa nibs, rum soaked raisins… the sky is the limit.

Leave a Reply

