smoothie

Smoothie Decorations

I find that I’m always going in and out of phases in my life. When it comes to working out, I go through a “running phase” or “yoga phase.” When it comes to food, I go through breakfast phases: a “yogurt phase” or “overnight oats phase.” I’m currently in a hardcore “smoothie phase” and to me, what goes on top of the smoothie is just as important as what goes inside.

IMG_0018.jpg

A smoothie won’t keep me full for longer than 20 minutes unless its topped with some fibrous good stuff. Everyday is a little different but the major categories are always present:

  • Healthy fat (coconut, cocoa nibs, nuts)
  • Protein (nuts, bee pollengolden berries)
  • Omega 3s (flax seeds, chia seeds)
  • Iron (cocoa nibs, spinach)
  • Fiber (all of the above!)
  • Vitamins (zinc in pumpkin seeds, vit A in golden berries, calcium in bee pollen)

img_0022

As far as what goes inside my smoothies, it is typically a combination of a leafy green (spinach, parsley, kale), vegetable (cucumber, avocado), fruit (typically banana and blueberries), almond milk, scoop of maca powder, and a dash of vanilla extract and cinnamon. I don’t add ice to my smoothies because I find it dilutes the flavors.

This may seem expensive and time consuming but the recipe can be simplified down to whatever you have on hand. I notice the difference in my body only a few days after having a smoothie every morning. My skin feels smoother, my stomach doesn’t feel weighed down after breakfast, and I have more energy.

Leave a Reply

