breakfast

Homemade Granola-Almost-Bars

I am the most suggestible person I know. Yesterday at the gym, Giada was making granola bars…so what did I do after the gym? I popped into WF and picked up dried fruit and almonds to make some granola bars! I don’t know if I should be calling them bars, as these didn’t quite hold their shape after I cut them – but they are quite delicious. (It’s been a decent substitute for not eating candy).
IMG_0565
I used Giada’s recipe for homemade granola bars… but changed a few things:

2 tbsp butter
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup brown sugar
pinch of salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 cups old fashioned oats
1 cup chopped roasted almonds
1 cup dried fruit (I used chopped prunes and dried cherries)
handful white chocolate chunks
2 tbsp flour
IMG_0566
Melt the butter in a large pot, mix in honey, sugar and salt. Add in the remaining ingredients and stir until combined. Press into an 8×8 baking dish lined with parchment and bake for 30 minutes at 300 degrees. Wait until completely cool to cut into. IMG_0567

Leave a Reply

