Uncategorized

Farmers Market Magic

Today was my first trip to the Dupont Circle Farmers Market.

My expectations were far surpassed. After battling the crowds, tasting a multitude of samples and snapping a few pictures, I ended up with an apple, a bunch of arugula, a tomato and the most exquisite homemade Cabra la Mancha chevre cheese. What brought my attention to this cheese was a herd of women ooh’ing and ahh’ing around an old woman’s stand, and it was soon clear why. She simply said “I make good cheese.” She wasn’t lying.

After a quick bus ride back from Market, I whipped up a couple tuna melts with my brand-new organic tomato.
Delish!

What’s-in-the-fridge Tuna Melt

Ingredients:

Bread (or English muffin)
1 can white tuna
1 tbsp. mayonnaise
1 tsp. dijon mustard (to taste)
salt & pepper
1 tsp. capers
(Optional: celery, red pepper, onion, relish…the possibilities are endless)
2 slices of cheese (I used pepper jack)
1 tomato, sliced

Method:

Mix together tuna, mayo, mustard, salt & pepper, capers and other desired ingredients. Top a piece of toast with tuna, tomato and cheese. Broil or toast in toaster oven until cheese is melted.
One thought on “Farmers Market Magic

  1. I'm sitting here enjoying you what's-in-the-fridge tuna melt, and I couldn't have done it without you. I bought capers in the store last night (i didn't realize you had to wash them first?!) and tomatoes and bread, and forgot to get cheese, so I had to run out and buy a block before sticking it in the oven. I used Cheddar cheese and a touch of spice brown mustard and the real kicker: Smoked Oysters! Really delicious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

